When The Spirit Moves Us

We all have our moments of doubt. We all have frustrations in life. But what is God if not the hope that things will get better? I tried to capture these feelings in the lyrics of a poem I wrote and later turned into a song. Recently, I wanted to translate it into another language and to my surprise, with a few minor lyric changes, it translated very nicely.  So here it is in English and in Spanish.

 

When the Spirit Moves Me

A Song by The Prophet of Life

VERSE 1

Welcome to my life

Caught up in the pages

Of a nine to five novel

The humming of the computer

The ring of the register

They are my constant companions

Complete with illustrations

Of an endless sea of emotionless faces

Collecting their pay

Counting the days

Until retirement damns them

CHORUS

But when the spirit moves me

When the spirit moves me

I can set myself free

And do great things

Like I know I was meant to

When the spirit moves me

When the spirit moves me

Second chances arise

As dreams come to life

And then they come true

 

VERSE 2

As the plot develops

I wrestle the anguish

Of a life going nowhere

I watch others pass me by

And feel I’ll surely die

At the hands of frustration

But in the end I find

That there is a reason

For my worldly existence

And better things will shine

Once I can find

A way to let them

(Repeat Chorus)

 

Cuando el Espíritu me mueve

Una canción por el Profeta de la Vida

 

Verse 1

Bienvenido a mi vida

Atrapado dentro de las páginas

De un libro sobre los trabajadores

El zumbido de la computadora

El anillo de la caja registradora

Ellos son mis únicos compañeros

 

El libro cuenta con ilustraciones

De un mar infinito de rostros inexpresivos

Recopilación de su salario

Contando los días

Hasta que mueren

coro

Pero cuando el espíritu me mueve

Sí, cuando el espíritu me mueve

Puedo liberarme

Y hacer las grandes cosas

Que yo sabía que estaba destinado a hacer

 

Cuando el espíritu me mueve

Sí, cuando el espíritu me mueve

Las segundas oportunidades suben

Como mis sueños cobran vida

Y luego se hacen realidad

 

 

Versículo 2

Conforme se desarrolla la historia de mi

Yo lucho la angustia

De una vida que se ha estancado

Observo otros hacen mejor que yo

Y siento que moriré

En manos de la frustración

Pero al final me parece

Que hay una razón

Por mi existencia en este mundo

Y cosas mejores vendrán a mí

Una vez que pueda encontrar

Una manera de hacerles

(estribillo de la repetición)

 

All Contents Copyright 1982, 2013 Love Force International Publishing Company. All Rights Reserved.

15 thoughts on “When The Spirit Moves Us

  1. […] When The Spirit Moves Us (edgeucationnewmedia.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] When The Spirit Moves Us (edgeucationnewmedia.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] When The Spirit Moves Us (edgeucationnewmedia.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

